The Premier's Debating Challenge for Years 9 and 10

A state-wide competition with zone winners progressing to regional and state-wide knockouts to determine the state champion.

Junior debating team

Latest news

The zone champions have been named and the statewide knockout finals series is underway! 87 teams made it through to the finals in 2023, and they'll compete until only the 2 teams are left standing. Those last 2 teams will meet in the state final at the Theatre Royal in Sydney on Monday 13 November from 11:30 AM.

You can access the detailed information on how the competition runs by downloading the 2023 Years 9 and 10 Debating information (PDF, 1.3 MB), and you can use this link to see a summary of the teams in their zones and their win/loss record. Best of luck to everyone in the competition!

About the competition

This competition began in 1950 with the donation of a trophy by Charles and Fred Teasdale for an annual debating competition at intermediate level between high schools on the north shore. Over the years it has expanded into a state-wide competition for all government schools.

Format of the competition

Teams will be organised into zones of six (occasionally fewer depending on entries) and will receive their draw before the start of Term 2. Each team will complete 3 debates against other teams from their zone whenever suits them before mid-Term 3. Once those 3 rounds are completed the team(s) with the best record will be declared the zone champions and will compete in a knockout finals series to determine the state champion. The state final will be held in November.

Watch past Years 9 and 10 state finals

NSW Premier's Debating Challenge 2022 - Years 9 and 10 state final


The final of the Years 9 and 10 age division of the challenge took place on Monday, November 7 2022, in the Telstra Theatre in Sydney. James Ruse Agricultural High School and Sydney Girls High School were the 2 teams that made it to the final out of a total of 284 competing teams.

NSW Premier’s Debating Challenge 2022 - Junior State Debating Championships final


Each year the different regions across NSW select a squad of their best Years 9 and 10 debaters to represent them at these championships which are held over 3 days at the Women’s College of the University of Sydney.


Watch more finals